Flashback: Casa Equis / Barclay & Crousse Architecture | ArchDaily

Today while browsing ArchDaily I came across this incredible house from Peru.  It is the type of house that can only be built in South America, No, I am wrong.  I should say it can only be built south of the USA border since on my visit to Guadalajara a long time ago I saw many building with similar spirit.

The way the house melds interior and exterior space, or should I say that there is no distinction between the two, allows for the development of the tectonic idea over the pure programatic.  An other aspect that really appeals to me is the very straight forward detailing and use of materials through out the design, there is very little finicky over design present in much of todays architecture.  As the architects tell us this is mostly attributed  to the distance between their office in Paris and the construction site in Peru. We had a saying back in college that went something like this. The only things worth keeping in a design are the ones that survive after your model was rolled down a hill.  I guess this is still true in more ways then one.

The use of concrete is an honest one and not high-jacked to support extensive mental and formal gymnastics. Judicious use of color allows for both bright and earthy to co-exist making what is a pretty aggressive modern house seem at time traditional and blend with the surrounding landscape.

All these are all the reasons I love this house.  Keep up the good work Barclay & Crousse!

Flashback: Casa Equis / Barclay & Crousse Architecture | ArchDaily.

About studiokiss

I am an architect interested in creative ideas from divers sources. Through my professional practice, Studio Kiss, I work on commercial and residential projects. I am also the founder of ASAP•house a manufacturer of modern prefab houses.

One comment

Leave a Reply

