World changing ideas and innovation

This post was going to be about high MPG cars built by students but since I started writing I have come across other interesting design work by students so that I had to broaden it to include a few other project.

Back to the cars then. I like cars (was going to say I love cars but the rational side a hold of me) and technology, soI found this article in Co.Exist very interesting. Fuel economy of over 1,000 MPG+++ is very impressive and since the people behind the machines are students (both high school and college) it looks like there is some hope for us after all.

13 Incredibly Efficient Vehicles, All Built By High School And College Students | Co.Exist: World changing ideas and innovation.

 Then I came access Greg Knobloch’s 499.summit on Designboom.  I was very impressed by the thoughtfulness of this project since it goes beyond the formal development of typical student work and it engages the social realm by rethinking the idea of modern prisons.  This is not only done as a formal exercise but also by rethinking the process of incarceration.  And you just have to love the apocalyptic rendering bellow with it’s War of the Worlds aspect (look for the two running escapees on the tracks).  Do watch the video, it’s very educational.

greg knobloch: 499.summit.

499.summit – skytropolis studio from Greg Knobloch on Vimeo.

Back to transportation again as I discovered this “single person transportation system” concept, on Gizmag,  dreamed up by product design student named Sanu K R Emakulam form India. Now if this rolling shell can get 1,poo MPG then we are making progress.

Indian student’s stunning personal transportation concept – Images.

About studiokiss

I am an architect interested in creative ideas from divers sources. Through my professional practice, Studio Kiss, I work on commercial and residential projects. I am also the founder of ASAP•house a manufacturer of modern prefab houses.

Leave a Reply

