Doug Aitken’s Song 1 at the Hirshhorn in Washington DC

When I first heard about this installation I wanted to see it right away so when on a recent trip to Washington DC I found myself in Georgetown at 9pm I had to make the track over to the Mall.  I dragged my family telling them that it will be a once on a lifetime experience all the while keeping my fingers crossed that what I was promising was true.

Well I am happy to report that it exceeded all of my expectations and then some.  The close to one hour-long movie created around the classic song “I only have eyes for you” .  Wikipedia tells us that “I Only Have Eyes for You” is a popular song by composer Harry Warren and lyricist Al Dubin, written in 1934 for the film Dames where it was introduced by Dick Powell and Ruby Keeler. Although I knew the song I did not realize that it is that old and always thought that it was from the 50’s.  It just goes to show you how little I know. But lets get back to the Hirshhorn.

Unfortunately my pictures, taken with an iPhone, do not do the piece justice but they will give you some idea.  This video is of much better quality and it gives you a much better sense of what to expect.

The visual imagery and the soundtrack are both of very high quality and very hard to describe in words.  You must see it.  If you are in Washington DC before May 13th, and that does not give you lots of time, you must go and see it.  It is playing every day from sundown to midnight.

http://construction.pb.feedroom.com/pb-comp/construction/custom5/player.swf?Environment=&SiteID=construction&SiteName=ConstructionOnline&SkinName=custom5&ChannelID=7f3712edd53c963f8d8ddbb6e6a663e0f27d9bae&StoryID=8d1f83fdf997d8244c7339f10e0277ba0f6b0a66&Volume=.5

About studiokiss

I am an architect interested in creative ideas from divers sources. Through my professional practice, Studio Kiss, I work on commercial and residential projects. I am also the founder of ASAP•house a manufacturer of modern prefab houses.

Leave a Reply

