4 out of 5 top transit cities are on the East Coast

Do you ever wonder why the debate on Public Transportation is split between Democrats (pro) and Republicans (con) ?  Well this survey by Walk Score show how 4 out of 5 top transit cities are on the East Coast | Grist. and in predominantly Democratic states. If you don’t have decent public transportation then I guess you don’t support it. The other reason between the Democrat/Republican split is because Republicans represent almost all very low density districts and the Democrats the high density ones.

I was in Washington DC recently and used the Metro which I love.  It is much quieter than the NYC subway and I very much like the up-lighting effect in the stations.

How do you feel about Public transportation? Do you use it?  Can you use it?

About studiokiss

I am an architect interested in creative ideas from divers sources. Through my professional practice, Studio Kiss, I work on commercial and residential projects. I am also the founder of ASAP•house a manufacturer of modern prefab houses.

2 comments

  1. I am a big fan of rail transit, but it’s very hard to use where I live. I used it for a year but gave up when the small circulator bus that served my neighborhood got cut. It worked when I could walk two blocks to the circulator, take the circulator to the rail line, and then go downtown. In our snowy winters, though, I’m simply not going to walk the 1.5 miles to the rail station. It takes me 15 minutes downtown by car, but the transit route took 45 minutes with circulator + rail. I was willing to do it until the circulator stopped running.

  2. It all comes down to how we plane our cities and suburbs. If we plan then for cars it will be hard to use mass transit, but if we pan then for mass transit cars will go away.

Leave a Reply

