Who knew! May 12th is National Train Day

Yes, who knew, well not me that’s for sure until I got a notice in my e-mail box yesterday. I like trains and alway have, I had N gauge model trains when I was a boy and played with it all the time and have ridden trains most of my life.  Having lived in NYC for many, many years I rode the subway (train like) and the LIRR (Long Island Rail Road) to and from the Hamptons on a regular basis. Back in the 80’s I was invited to the University of Virginia to give a lecture and after assessing all my transportation options I decided to take the train and I rode what is known as The Crescent, a New York City to New Orleans daily train which stops in Charlottesville Va.  In most cities the train station is among the best buildings and the best public spaces that city has. The train station was and still is the foyer to the city, a grand space from where you enter the city.  A case in point id Grand Central Station in New York whose central room still awes and amazes me every time I pass through it.  The old Penn Station was the same before it was unceremoniously demolished.  I never had the opportunity to experience it since it all happened before I arrive to the US.

So back to the National Train Day.  AMTRAK is organising train appreciation events around the country and you can get more information on it at their dedicated website National Train Day.  It might be something fun to do with the kids I think.

About studiokiss

I am an architect interested in creative ideas from divers sources. Through my professional practice, Studio Kiss, I work on commercial and residential projects. I am also the founder of ASAP•house a manufacturer of modern prefab houses.

2 comments

  1. I like your characterization of the train station as foyer to the city. So true. The Cleveland Union Terminal (now a mall) was a grand space of this sort too: http://clevelandhistorical.org/items/show/21. (Note that this link will ultimately be reworked as we divide this story on the app into separate stories on the rail terminal, the tower, the rapid transit station, and the mall.

    • Unfortunately I have never been to Cleveland, even though at one time it was the second largest Hungarian city, but I have seen the Cincinnati, Washington DC, Los Angeles, Boston, Philadelphia and Baltimore stations. All this train talk has inspired me to take a closer look at the great american train stations.

Leave a Reply

