Don’t you just hate bad Infographics

Since I am featured in two articles on HOUZZ this week I was visiting the site and came across their new research on home renovation and building projections.  I guess to garner more eyeballs they created an infographics out of the data but the problem with it is that the data is very thin (it seems like non scientific survey of Houzz users or so I think) with no comparison data as to see what the change or trend is and finally when you look at it you have no idea what it means.  Oh sure you can read it and get information from it but then it’s just reading and not graphically transmuted information is it?  Just look at the map of the USA with percentages attached to different regions of the country.  There is no coherent or hierarchical arrangement of the information on it, just a every day map with a bunch of icons strewn all over it. The rest of it is just a bad.

What drew my interest to this piece was the title, “Homeowners Prioritizing Style Over Profit“, and the implications in raised in my mind so I don’t have to say how disappointed I was when I found this useless info graphic.  As a comparison I added a infographic that was generated by an app created by Visual.ly  using your Facebook profile.  I am not saying that this is great infographics but  it still better then the HOUZZ attempt.

Sorry to be so negative but I could not help myself.

About studiokiss

I am an architect interested in creative ideas from divers sources. Through my professional practice, Studio Kiss, I work on commercial and residential projects. I am also the founder of ASAP•house a manufacturer of modern prefab houses.

Leave a Reply

