Memories of 9/11/2001 and it’s aftermath

I was looking for some pictures today and I came across these images I took in the day, weeks and month following 9/11/  My hard drive had crashed a few years back and I thought I had lost them but I got lucky and did after all make a back-up of them.  The images were taken mostly at night on my way home from work.  At the time I lived in Battery Park City and my new office was located on Duane St.  To get home I had to walk all the way around the restricted area. My office on the day of the attack was located less then 300 feet from across the street from the South Tower.  I also found the pictures I took that day but I feel that they are not appropriate to share now.  The images I am sharing are from Late November 2001 to January 2002 since I got to finally move back home just after Thanksgiving 2001 and started to make the nightly trek and used the process of taking pictures as a form of therapy.  Having to fight through throngs of sightseers and onlookers every day was a bit much so taking pictures gave me a reason to deal with them other then be frustrated at them.  I know it sounds strange but believe me it was.  This was my neighborhood for over 10 years at the time and all of a sudden it was transformed into a zone of chaos and the surreal.  Just take a look at the guy vacuuming the sidewalk with a computer on his back and a flatscreen display hanging of his chest. It’s towards the end of the slide show.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About studiokiss

I am an architect interested in creative ideas from divers sources. Through my professional practice, Studio Kiss, I work on commercial and residential projects. I am also the founder of ASAP•house a manufacturer of modern prefab houses.

Leave a Reply

